Rise Up With Fists.

Everyone gets one star reviews.

That’s what I’ve been repeating to myself, over, and over again. From Shakespeare to Stephenie Meyer, it’s impossible that every single person that comes across a work will love it.

So what’s a girl to do when she’s smacked upside the head with a handful of one star reviews? For the past day or two, I’ve been moping. I mean, I get that readers want longer works. But when someone calls buying my book a waste and tries to warn others away from spending their hard earned money? On a 0.99 book? Really? REALLY?! It’s hard to not get insulted and take it a little personally.

Just when I’m ready to just bundle up in bed, lights off, with Moose Track ice cream and just say to hell with it all, I remember my also-boughts. I know that people are reading one and buying the next. And the next. And a third. Even though the one stars are front and center, my sales have not come to a halt. I get emails from readers saying how much they enjoy my stories. Just because a handful of people apparently think my work is 1 star worthy, there are plenty of others that enjoy it.

Some people will like your work. Some people will love it. And some people will feel so offended that they wasted a whole dollar and an hour or two of their time that they’ll feel so moved to smack you down.

So while this post is mostly cathartic so I don’t lose my shit, it’s also a little ‘chin up’ for any other writers, erotica and otherwise, who may be down when they get hit by the dreaded one star review.

If the review has a constructive point, try to take it to heart. If it’s abusive, just let it roll off and keep on going. Keep writing. Put your best work out there for those who want to read your stuff. Enjoy yourself. Cuz at the end of the day, as easy as it is to let their words get to you, especially if it starts to mess with your ranking and it comes off like they’re on some sort of personal vendetta, all you can do is rise up with fists.

Don’t let it keep you down.

About violetwilliamserotica

I'm an erotica writer that spends my days camped out at coffee shops, weaving naughty tales that aren't for the faint of heart.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rise Up With Fists.

  1. Anjasa says:

    Not everyone likes/wants longer works. One option is to include how many words your story contains in the description, just so people know how long it is – that way you’re more likely to find people who like the length!

    And don’t worry too much about 1 stars – I tend to read them and if it says something like “This book was too short!” it won’t stop me from making the purchase.

    I always feel bad giving one stars, but in my reviews I try to detail why – my complaints might be another person’s joy!

  2. Thayer King says:

    I have the same frustration about bad reviews. If it’s constructive, I can use the criticism to make my next book better. But when it’s not (such as saying it could have been written by a 16 year old), it puts me in a funk and I don’t write for a day or two. I’ll be sure to bookmark this for when I’m feeling down about bad reviews!

    I agree with the previous poster, a review that says a book is too short won’t stop me from reading a book. Generally, I find 1 star reviews more helpful. If they say something about a book that I know would offend me, then I don’t buy it. If their dislikes are ones that don’t bother me or if they’re vague, I will still give the book a try.

  3. @Anjasa: Good tip on the word count…when I started, I didn’t include them, but found that I was less likely to get “this was really short!” types of reviews when I included the count.
    Thanks for commenting!

    @Thayer King: Glad to see my vent-age is helping a fellow writer. 🙂 Also! I loved loved LOVED your book, Whimsy! So unique and fresh. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a comment